That Kind of Pen Day

Before I started working at Newell Rubbermaid when it came to my choice of writing utensil I did not really put too much thought into it. Yes, like every office supply junkie I dreamed of having dozens of colors of pens and markers to write my notes with, but for my entire life my mom has refused to buy my beloved Flair pens for me. I usually resulted to “borrowing” them from friends who had extras, but not anymore!

Every day is a challenge for me to choose what pen to use. Is it a Sharpie pen day? Is it Paper Mate day? Is it a uni-ball day? I’ll be honest there haven’t been too many uni-ball days. When I look at the uni-ball pens in my mason jar they mean business. Its saying, “I dare you to do business with me. Sign some important documents.” I feel like I haven’t written anything that is serious enough for a uni-ball pen. I will say though when it comes to blue ink, those uni-ball pens are the best.

Today is most definitely a Paper Mate day. I obviously love the Flair pens, but I don’t want to overindulge myself by using them every day. I’ve really come to love the Paper Mate 300 series. Not only is the ink honestly some of the smoothest ink I’ve seen, but there are SO many different colors! I have green, light green, purple, orange, light blue, dark blue, maroon, and so many others. They all complement each other quite nicely and it makes color coating easy.

Now what do I mean when I say I’m having a ”Paper Mate pen day”. It really means that a have work to do, but not an overwhelming amount. It is more of a pen that I like to bring to meetings because it shows my creativity with what color I have, but still says “I mean business.” Another benefit, it doesn’t bleed through paper no matter how hard I write. These pens also keep me from getting distracted. They are not drawing pens so I can stick to my work and try to keep my mind on my task.

That’s the kind of pen day I am having today. What kind of pen day are you having?

About inktern2011

Follow @inktern This summer I'm getting the amazing opporuntity to be a part of Newell Rubbermaid's Office Products division. I'm the new social media intern and get to let my creative juices help brands like Sharpie, Papermate, Uni-ball and Prismacolor. Here you'll get to see some of the ideas we have, the things we are doing and the people we get to interact with.

Posted on June 2, 2011, in Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this post!! I currently have three pens out on my desk, all with their specific purpose… the Sharpie pen in orange, Uniball Signo in blue, and Papermate gel in blue. The combination helps me get my work done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

